Emeriti Professors

Professor A. F. Oluwole

Emeritus Professor A. F. Oluwole was the second Head of Department (1975 – 1976).

He was the founder and first Director of Centre for Energy and Research Development (CERD), OAU, Ile–Ife. His research is in Nuclear Technology, Environmental and Applied Nuclear Physics and Radiation studies. His research area is wide as it involves multidisciplinary studies.

His research themes attracted colleagues from Health Sciences, Chemistry, Geology, Soil Physics, etc. His research attracted funds from European agencies, Shell Petroleum Development Company, etc.

The Department is Happy to have Professor Oluwole back as Emeritus Professor to still benefit from his wealth of academic and research experience.

Professor E. E. Balogun

Professor Ekundayo E. Balogun is one of the founding members of the Department of Physics and Engineering Physics at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile–Ife. He was Head of Department (1986 – 1989) and former Dean of the Faculty of Science (1989 – 1991).

While in active service, he led and developed the Atmospheric research group in the Department with strong linkage and collaborations with Uppsala University in Sweden among many others.

His recognition by the United Nation Office of Outer Space (UNOOSA) was instrumental to the setting up of African Regional Centre for Space Science and Technology Education–English (ARCSSTE-E) in late 90s at the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU), Ile–Ife. He was the founding Director of the Centre. He has made immense contributions towards the development of Meteorological studies and Space programme in Nigeria with definite imprints at National Space Research and Development Agency (NASRDA), Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA) and Nigerian Meteorological Agency (NIMET).

Professor Balogun retired from the services of the Department sixteen years ago. He was recognised by Obafemi Awolowo University as an Emeritus Professor in 2019 due to his immense contributions.